Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award 2023 - logo

Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award 2023

The International Women's Media Foundation is the only global organization built to serve the holistic needs of women and nonbinary journalists. We are a bold and inclusive organization that supports journalists where they are with awards, reporting opportunities, fellowships, grants, safety training and emergency aid. As one of the largest supporters of women-produced journalism, our transformative work strengthens equal opportunity and press freedom worldwide.

Eligibility Criteria:
- The award is open to women, nonbinary and gender nonconforming journalists.
- The candidate must be working as a journalist full-time, and journalism must be their primary profession.
- Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.




Recipients of the Courage in Photojournalism Award will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and have their work showcased during an award ceremony.


The award is open to women

Copyrights & Usage Rights:



Documentary Photojournalism