Close-up Photographer of the Year - logo

Close-up Photographer of the Year


Close-up Photographer of the Year celebrates close-up, macro and micro photography in all its forms, and we are looking for images that help us see the world anew.

The competition is open to anyone, living in any part of the world and using any camera or microscope to take pictures.

There are six categories to choose from:

Animals — From details of birds and mammals to macro shots of invertebrates and small creatures.

Plants & fungi — In detail or captured up-close within the habitat.

Intimate landscape — Natural, non-living objects and substances such as water and rock.

Manmade — Objects and materials conceived or created by humans.

Micro — Pictures on any subject captured with a microscope.

Young CUPOTY — Open to photographers aged 17 or under on the closing date.

An elite panel of experts will judge the entries, including David Maitland, Sue Bishop, Robert Thompson, Ross Hoddinott, Keith Wilson and co-founder Tracy Calder.

A prize fund worth over £4,000 is shared between the overall winner and six category winners.




Overall winner — £1,000 cash + SIGMA 70mm F2.8 DG MACRO Art lens + SIGMA sd Quattro camera.

Category winner — £300

Young CUPOTY — SIGMA 70mm F2.8 DG MACRO Art lens

The Top 100 — The 100 best pictures entered into the competition, as chosen by our judges, will be displayed on the Winners Gallery of our website. This will be a permanent record of achievement for the photographers selected.


Open to all

Copyrights & Usage Rights:

Close-up Photographer of the Year respects your rights and does not claim copyright for pictures you submit to the competition, you will retain full copyright for each entry.

Shortlisted and winning images will be used for any purpose directly connected with the competition for a period of three years from the announcement of the winners.

Winning or shortlisted images may also be held in a Competition Winners Archive on the Site, in perpetuity, so the public can see any winning or shortlisted entries from previous years.